Flying by the Seat of My Pants


“Cycle tracks will abound in Utopia.” ~H.G. Wells

Ahh, I remember hot summer days of so long ago … hiding with my ever-present library book in the branches of the lone shade tree, an orange popsicle melting down my chin as I searched for respite from annoying, cootie-dripping boys and blazing, energy-sucking heat.  Eventually I would run out of pages to turn or would tire of flicking the black ants off my skinny legs, and out of the tree I would crawl … and move on to stirring up mosquitoes as I ran circles around the lawn sprinkler, squealing in delight as the cool water soaked through my Josey and the Pussycats t-shirt.  Eventually even that activity grew tiresome, so I was on to the next adventure, the best adventure of all … flying through the air on my bike.

Oh, my bike–my beautiful pink Schwinn with the banana seat, with the pink and white plastic tassels streaming from the handlebars and the playing cards clothespinned to the spokes for just the right amount of clackity-clackity-clack.  That bike was my first ticket to freedom, carrying me all over the neighborhood and–more importantly–carrying me away from my mother’s watchful eye.   Without her yelled warnings to “Stop it!  You’re going to get hurt!” to deter me, I could ride a wheelie from one driveway to the next, I could fly down a hill faster than the mangy dogs chasing me, and I could balance forever with my hands in the air and only my little legs pumping me forward–until, as my mother had promised, one of my stunts would finally send me crashing into the gravel and dirt and running home to her forgiving arms.  Skinned knees, bloodied palms, bruised ego … the momentary pain they produced was quickly cured with a Band-Aid and a kiss, and then I was slamming through the screen door once more to prove to all the neighborhood boys that I was every bit as tough as they were.

Pure joy.

I don’t remember at what point I became too cool for my beautiful pink Schwinn, but I’m guessing it was probably about the same time I realized that not all boys had cooties, that not all boys appreciated a girl who could beat them in a race, and that not all boys approved of girls with dirt-streaked legs and scabby knees.  The bike was parked, forgotten, until its rusty remains became some other little girl’s yard sale bargain.

Fast forward about 38 years:  The little girl with scabby knees and a fondness for speed has been replaced with a “mature” woman with flabby thighs and a fondness for her recliner.  That little girl would not recognize this woman–this woman who has forgotten the rush of wind in her hair and who has allowed herself to deteriorate into a fleshy, floppy mass of self-loathing.

But that little girl would be proud of this woman for finally–finally–making the decision to change her loathsome life by hoisting herself out of that recliner and flying into the wind on the seat of a bike.

Those of you who have been reading this blog for very long already know of my weight loss journey that started in January, and you know that in the seven months since then I have exceeded my goal and pedaled myself 27 pounds slimmer.  What you may not realize, though, is that in my efforts to reclaim my health and my dignity, I have accomplished something perhaps even more significant …

I have rediscovered joy.

I won’t lie; it wasn’t joyous in the beginning.  My little pink Schwinn was replaced with a cumbersome hybrid (a cross between a mountain bike and a road bike), which was a few months later replaced with a lighter, faster road bike.  Missing from these adult versions were the banana seat, the plastic tassels and the playing card clackers (the fun stuff), and in their place were hand brakes and gears (the scary stuff).  So much to learn!  Shifting through 24 speeds was an entirely new experience, and even though I’ve gotten much better (through my husband’s “tutelage”), I sometimes still strip the gears–usually when I’m going up a hill–and suddenly find myself spinning feverishly and going nowhere.

Much worse than learning gears, though, has been trying to find a comfortable way to sit on a seat not much bigger than a pair of thong underwear (or so I’ve been told).  In fact, here’s a picture of my bike seat; at the tip it is 1 1/4″ wide, and at its broadest it measures a whopping 6″.  Now, I don’t think it’s necessary for me to disclose how wide my backside is at its broadest–let’s just say there is a considerable amount of “overhang.”  Instead of imagining that picture (please don’t!), imagine instead what it must feel like to have the entire weight of one’s torso centered upon that tiny seat–and then you will understand why a long bike ride elicits a strong, almost overwhelming yearning for a strategically placed ice pack.

In addition to the throbbing buttocks, I’ve endured muscles quivering, elbows aching, toes cramping and sweat spilling from every pore.  I’ve been pinged in the face by a rock, stung on the chest by a wasp, and choked by a multitude of bugs not smart enough to avoid flying into my open mouth.  I’ve breathed in air so heavy with humidity and pollen that it has made me choke–and I’ve choked back my anger (and some very colorful language) when a pick-up drivin’ good ol’ boy intentionally rode up on my back tire before blasting a siren and then laughing at my reaction as he gunned around me.

And yet … and yet, I’ve learned to deal with it all.  To make the bike seat a little less painful, I did what I swore I would never do and bought a pair of Spandex cycling shorts–not because I suddenly believed that I could be the first person ever to look good in Spandex but rather because they came equipped with foam butt padding–who knew!  (So what if the view from the back was now even more bounteous–I couldn’t see it.)  I learned ibuprofen and Icy Hot before a ride decreased the discomfort, and I learned ibuprofen and a whirlpool after a ride decreased it even more.  I learned to keep my mouth closed while riding to reduce bug intake (although such intake will never be completely eliminated since a few little buggers still manage to find their way into my nasal cavity), and my husband installed a rear-view mirror on my handlebar so that I could see pick-up drivin’ good ol’ boys before they got close enough to scare me.

And once I learned to deal effectively with the minor annoyances and limited pain, the joy came steamrolling in.  I couldn’t help myself; the wind in my face was pure ecstacy, and my speed down the hills was sheer bliss–for the first time since childhood, from somewhere deep within my soul, a long-forgotten “Wheeee!” escaped through my lips and made me downright goofy.  Sure, I grimaced and groaned and huffed and puffed as I struggled up hills and struggled to add another mile and another mile to my ever-increasing distance, but still I couldn’t keep from smiling.

And sometimes I even laughed aloud, like the time I almost crashed into a very indecisive squirrel (is there any other kind?).  I saw him ahead of me on the road in plenty of time to make a wide arc around him, but he did as all squirrels do and darted in the same direction–and when I corrected my course to avoid him still, he changed his course as well.  Just before his tiny brain became splattered mush beneath my front tire (and just before such an impact would have sent me tumbling into the ditch), he finally zigged to my zag and lived to see another day.

Joy also came from goals set, met and exceeded.  At the beginning of this month I was consistently riding about 12 miles a day, which is no small feat for an old gal riding on hilly terrain.  But I decided I wanted to increase my mileage, so I set a goal of reaching 100 miles in 7 days–and reached it in 6 days instead.  By then I was riding 20 miles at a time–and remembering with great disdain the old gal from seven months prior who couldn’t carry groceries up the stairs without getting short-winded.

And this past Sunday I exceeded my goals even further by logging my best bike ride ever–a heart-thumping, legs-pumping, mind-blowing 30 miles–me!  I did that–the wimpy bookworm with a distaste for all things sweaty.  And the best part–the most telling part–is that I rode the last 10 miles in the pouring rain.  I could have quit–I had a good enough reason to quit–but the idea of quitting never crossed my mind.  At first the rain provided a welcome cooling of the summer heat, but as it increased in intensity it stung my arms and legs and sent electricity pulsing through every nerve-ending–and it felt good.  Raindrops were beading in my eyelashes, my soaked clothes were matting to my soaked skin, my shoes were squishing with every churn of the pedals–and it all felt good.  When my odometer hit 29 miles and I knew I had only one mile to go–and knew I was going to make it–I started laughing aloud with the sheer joy of it.  “Look at me, Adele!” I remember thinking in  my giddiness, “Look at me!  I am setting fire to the rain!”  And my last mile was faster than the 29 miles before …

Even better than rediscovering joy has been the discovery of a few things I honestly (and sadly) never knew about myself.  I have discovered that I am strong; I have discovered that I have will power and determination, fire and grit.  It should not have taken me so long to come to such an awareness, but now that I have, I am ready for the next set of challenges–and I am ready to fly.

“I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me.”

–Steve Miller Band

This is my first hill, the one that greets me as I leave my driveway and gets my heart thumping before I ever reach the highway.

This is my favorite spot on my ride--a frequent location for "Wheee!" and no matter the time of day, it is always shaded.

About icedteawithlemon

I have recently retired from a 30-year career in education in one of the best school districts in the world. I hope to spend my second life reading, writing, photographing, traveling, biking, cheering on my favorite baseball team (the St. Louis Cardinals), and soaking up glorious sunshine. In my spare time I enjoy playing with my pet tarantulas, trying out new flavors of chewing gum, and knitting socks for prison inmates. I'm almost positive that in a past life I was one of the Seven Dwarfs (most likely "Grumpy"), and in my next life I'm going to be either a taste tester for Hershey's or a model for Victoria's Secret's new line, "Bloomers for Boomers." I want to travel country back roads, singing Vanilla Ice songs at every karaoke bar and rating bathroom cleanliness at every truckstop. And someday I plan to own a private beach where skinny girls aren't allowed. I want to be a writer when I grow up. "Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake."--Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Aging, Childhood, Health, Simple Pleasures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Flying by the Seat of My Pants

  1. Miles Long says:

    Great story!!!! For those people not from Missouri, those pictures only give you a small dose of the hills, turns, and humidity!! Awesome.

    • Thank you, Miles! And for those people from Missouri who know how challenging the terrain can be–but now live in more “civilized” areas with bike paths and trails, I have to wonder why they’re not dusting off their bikes and pulling them out of storage. Hmm. What a perfect opportunity to rediscover a childhood joy!

  2. Julie says:

    Years ago, a friend told me I was immature and childish to be riding a bike as an adult. She could not see any purpose to it. I tried to explain the joy of wind in my hair and how great I felt during and after a ride……all to no avail. Upon reflection I realized she was an unfun, totally not joyful, buzzkill kind of person. I kept the bike; I found new friends. Thanks for being one of them! 🙂

    • You’re welcome–and thank you! “I kept the bike; I found new friends.”–I love it! How often do we surround ourselves–needlessly–with those buzzkill joy busters! Safe travels the next few days–I’ll be thinking of you and looking forward to your first blog post from South America! (And that reminds me–I need to add you to my “blogroll.”

  3. ride timer says:

    I’m as proud of you as a parent whose child has just hit a walk-off homerun at a state championship game. The near wrecks and especially riding in the rain have all been fantastic. Remember, the next adventure of whee is just over the next big hill. Just keep pedaling–eventually you’ll get to the top and then WHEEEEEE !!!!!!!

  4. emjayandthem says:

    I thank you for the joy you’ve put in my heart just from reading about your adventures and unexpected discoveries… all I can say is “Wow, Wow, Wow!” (smiling broadly)

    wonderful post .. 🙂 Cheers, MJ

  5. Its a very cool exercise. I love biking too specially when the weather is pretty good and there’s a lot of new places to wander. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  6. Okay, I’ve been absent for a very long time. So I don’t know if you’ve changed your profile pic recently – there’s a chance it’s the same one I made the same comment about before. Senior moments are coming fast and furious these days for me, and I have no concept of time. But you must know that, before I even read the post, I glanced at the pic and thought, “I’ve got to tell Iced Tea that she looks fabulous and is an inspiration.” And, then, reading the post … 27 POUNDS! You GO, girl! Congratulations! Not only on the weight loss, but on the new found JOY!

    I love your writing, but this post brought me joy in remembering the banana seat and the same freedom I enjoyed riding my bike … constantly. Every evening, after supper, I’d ride all over the place. From this post, I remembered the breeze and the ease. Now, I can’t remember the last time I was on a bike and am fearful of the aches and pains that will surely come as a result of any bike rides I might take … oh, someday! Well, maybe next week. Like I said, you’re an inspiration! I LOVE the photos, too!

    • Thank you so much! I did change the profile pic, maybe a couple months ago (I really don’t remember–I’m having quite a few of those “fast and furious” senior moments myself!). The bike riding has been truly transformational in so many ways, but the renewed joy and excitement for life have been its biggest rewards. I wish I could convince every adult to hop on a bike and give it a spin, to feel that “breeze and ease” once more. I am hooked (you could be, too!). Thanks again for all your kind words!

  7. bronxboy55 says:

    It may be a coincidence, but the joy you’ve found on the bike seems to have filled your writing with energy, perspective, and confidence. Keep going and don’t look back (except to check that mirror once in a while). And whatever you do, please leave the self-loathing behind you — there are too many people out here who need your inspiration.

    • Thank you for your kindness and your always thought-provoking perceptions. I don’t think it is a coincidence; the joy I’ve found on the seat of that bike has woven its way into every aspect of my life. Yesterday I hit the road around 6:30 a.m. because I wanted to get in a 20-mile ride before the demands of the day took over. I felt the previous night’s raindrops falling from the trees, I pedaled through the rising fog, and I scattered a herd of deer–it was the most uplifting experience, and the peacefulness of the morning’s ride stayed with me throughout the day. It’s all good.

Leave a Reply

