Livin’ in Limbo


Last weekend I stayed up many, many hours past my bedtime waiting for my youngest son to come home from his girlfriend’s Prom.  Okay, to be perfectly honest, I was in the living room, sitting in my recliner and glancing repeatedly at the clock, but I may not have been completely awake the entire time (a slobber dribble running down my chin at one point seemed to indicate recent slumber).   But when I was awake, I was surfing through limited late-night TV options and thinking about all the time I’ve spent over the years flipping through channels, thumbing through magazines, staring into space, counting ceiling tiles, watching the clock . . . and waiting.  And waiting some more.

I’m not very good at relaxing, and I’m even worse at being patient, so most of this waiting usually seems like a tremendous waste of valuable time.  In fact, statisticians estimate that in a life span of 70 years, most people will have spent at least three years waiting . . . stagnant . . . in limbo.  I’m not sure how these “statisticians” arrived at their estimate, and if they had included me in their survey, then I’m sure my wait times alone could have driven up the average.

Of course, like so many of you, I have waited with anxious anticipation for a variety of big life events–waiting to turn 16 so I could get a driver’s license and my first taste of freedom, waiting to turn 18 so I could vote and be a responsible citizen, waiting to turn 21 so I could be an irresponsible moron and do in Missouri what I’d legally been crossing the river to do in Illinois for two years–and waiting for graduation and a wedding and the subsequent births of three children.  And there have been a variety of “little” events that I have looked forward to as well–waiting for the weekend, for spring break, for summer vacation, for chocolate chip cookies to come out of the oven.  But these are all activities that haven’t required “down time”– other tasks could still be accomplished while waiting for these events to arrive, and the end results always made the delay worthwhile.

The same cannot be said for some of the frequent annoyances that steal precious minutes from my day and force me to do deep breathing exercises and beach visualizations in order to curb my frustrations.

Waiting in the doctor’s office is one of my biggest annoyances, and I don’t think it’s fair (or accurate) to take a blood pressure reading AFTER I’ve been forced to sit for over an hour, surrounded by sick people with germs different from my own while pretending not to eavesdrop on the long list of ailments they want to discuss with anyone unfortunate enough to be in the near vicinity.  (So you–lady with the megaphone voice, the pancaked make-up, and the polyester blouse unbuttoned to reveal way too much of your sagging cleavage–I really don’t want to know that you’re here because of your night sweats and hot flashes.  I would much rather imagine that you’re a poorly disguised cougar, here to confirm a surprise pregnancy with the 24-year-old slacker boy from next door–who just happens to be the son of your former best friend.)

Even worse, I think, is the continued wait after the nurse calls me back and deposits me in Exam Room 5 because I now have the false hope that my wait is over.  Silly me.  After I have stripped down to my socks and wrapped myself in a paper gown, I shiver in the frigid air while trying in vain to ignore the ticking clock–there are no reading materials in Exam Room 5, no other patients to make up stories about, not even my own file to snoop through.  (There are, however, posters of cute little kitties in a bucket, a nurse brandishing a foot-long needle and extolling the importance of flu vaccines, and another one displaying internal organs encased in belly blubber–these are supposed to make me feel better?!)  Eventually I hear the doctor’s voice in the hallway and feel a fleeting sense of relief–until I hear another door open and close and the doctor’s voice disappearing behind it.

Waiting in line is another major irritant for me.  If I’m lucky, the truck spewing diesel fumes in front of me at the drive-up window will at least have an interesting assortment of bumper stickers to occupy my interest (“Some days it’s not even worth chewing through the restraints.” “Life is tough.  It’s tougher if you’re stupid.”  “My day is not complete until I’ve punched a complete stranger.”).  But I can read only so many National Enquirer headlines in the grocery store check-out line before feeling the overwhelming urge to smash a jar of kosher dills against my forehead–people actually believe this stuff? (“Noah’s Ark Found on Mars!”  “Mermaid Found in Sardine Can–She’s Alive!”  “Michael Jackson’s Love Child Found in Buddhist Monastery!”).  I have found a more engrossing, more enjoyable way to spend the long wait time is to analyze the purchases of the customer in front of me (whipped cream, butcher knife, toilet plunger, chocolate syrup, five cans of Fancy Feast cat food, Cheerios, tube socks . . . hmmm . . . interesting)–until I realize the customer in line behind me is probably analyzing my purchases.  Uh-oh.

The worst line of all is the one winding into the hallway outside of the women’s bathroom.  Regardless of the venue, there never seem to be enough stalls to accommodate the swirling mass of squirming women all needing to empty their bulging bladders at the exact same time.  Some of the braver, younger ones may make idle chit chat, check their cell phone messages, or reapply their lipstick to pass the time, but many of us older ladies know from experience the importance of keeping legs crossed and maintaining complete focus on the task at hand.

And there are other waits that can be just as frustrating, pushing my patience to its very limit–like waiting for an extremely large file to download on an extremely slow computer, waiting for a real person to pick up the phone–and answer my one simple question–after I’ve punched in half a dozen computerized commands, or waiting for a late, guaranteed-to-be-mind-numbing meeting to finally begin (when it’s already ten minutes past the scheduled start time) and to finally end (when it’s already gone twenty minutes past the scheduled ending time).  Waiting for inspiration has also been a problem of late, as well as waiting for 9 p.m. to arrive so I can finally go to bed without feeling too much like an old lady–and then waiting for the fatigue that is plaguing my body to overtake my caffeinated brain as well so that I can close my eyes and keep them closed.

And, worst of all, I’m still waiting (not so patiently) for Brad Pitt and/or George Clooney to return my calls.  I’d settle for either one.

About icedteawithlemon

I have recently retired from a 30-year career in education in one of the best school districts in the world. I hope to spend my second life reading, writing, photographing, traveling, biking, cheering on my favorite baseball team (the St. Louis Cardinals), and soaking up glorious sunshine. In my spare time I enjoy playing with my pet tarantulas, trying out new flavors of chewing gum, and knitting socks for prison inmates. I'm almost positive that in a past life I was one of the Seven Dwarfs (most likely "Grumpy"), and in my next life I'm going to be either a taste tester for Hershey's or a model for Victoria's Secret's new line, "Bloomers for Boomers." I want to travel country back roads, singing Vanilla Ice songs at every karaoke bar and rating bathroom cleanliness at every truckstop. And someday I plan to own a private beach where skinny girls aren't allowed. I want to be a writer when I grow up. "Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake."--Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in boredom, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Livin’ in Limbo

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

  2. Homestead Ramblings says:

    Well said! On those annual days in the chilly exam room, I just contemplate how glad I am that I’m not at the dentist!

  3. Janet Taber says:

    I always thought that surely mothers (and other patient waiters) earned extra stars for their crowns during those endless hours of waiting….and waiting…although I was never patient about it. That stretch from 1-2 a.m. can get soooooooo long….and so can that line to the women’s restroom! (focus….focus….no, I will NOT go now!)

    • So very true! It is a little easier now than it was when my oldest son was in high school–back before cell phones. At least now while I’m waiting I can get frequent updates if needed (although I panic even more when one of them forgets to call or doesn’t answer the cell phone!).

  4. SUE says:

    Love it! There are thousands of us out here that know EXACTLY how you feel! – so – THANK YOU for sounding off for us all! xo

  5. emjayandthem says:

    Boy can I relate to this … especially waiting at the Doctor’s office. I’ve tried to be smarter about bringing a book with me .. only to find I forgot my reading glasses… *Sigh*

    I’d like to add one to the list: waiting at the Vet’s office. Our dog is terrified of car rides so a trip the vet is equivalent to “dead man walking” for him … panting, drooling, whining, pacing in the lobby then another 10-15 min of the same in the exam room. He’s nearly fur-less by the time we finally see Mr. Happy Pants… Grrr. I can handle a wait but I absolutely dread putting my senior citizen dog through it.

    There, I feel better now 🙂

    MJ

    • Then I would have to add waiting out a thunderstorm with my senior citizen dog who is terrified of thunder. Her panting and pacing make for a very long night! And I take a book with me everywhere I go, but the environment isn’t always conducive to concentration.

Leave a Reply

