My Little Bitties: Part II


With one day of spring break behind me (and only one more day of spring break ahead of me), I am already starting to feel refreshed and rejuvenated and even a little relaxed.  I really needed this time off (probably almost as much as the people who have had to be around me lately).  Admittedly, I have been in a bit of a funk, allowing daily annoyances and frustrations to overwhelm me and to force me to lose sight of what a great life I really have.

And my frequent admonishments to myself to “suck it up” just haven’t been doing the trick.

But yesterday I slept in until I wanted to get out of bed, ate fresh strawberries for breakfast, spent the morning with my buddy Matt Lauer, read several chapters in a great Civil War novel, and lounged lazily in exquisite afternoon sunshine.  Yesterday I also read over some of my previous blog posts, and I came across “My Little Bitties” from many months ago.  Not only was I reminded of so many of the simple pleasures in my life, but I was also challenged to think of even more reasons to smile that didn’t make the first list.

So here they are … My Little Bitties, Part II:

  1. watching my two favorite baseball teams, the GHS Bulldogs and the St. Louis Cardinals (especially when they beat an arch rival, and even more so when they do it with a no-hitter or a walk-off homerun!).
  2. reading a phrase so poetic and beautiful that I have to read it again for the pure pleasure of absorbing its beauty.
  3. getting fist bumps from my students, especially when I’m out in public and they run up to greet me (when they could have so easily pretended they didn’t see me).
  4. feeling the sun’s warmth on my upturned face.
  5. having thought-provoking conversations about topics that matter.
  6. dining in a restaurant that is completely smoke-free (instead of having to walk through the smoking section to get to the non-smoking section in the back).
  7. knowing the rain is heavy enough to wash all the dust off my car.
  8. smelling chocolate cake baking in the oven.
  9. trying on a pair of formerly too-tight pants and realizing they are now too loose.
  10. getting home and realizing that someone else has already washed the dishes that I left in the sink the night before.
  11. having my grown children come home for a visit (hint, hint).
  12. discovering that I am so much stronger mentally than I ever dreamed possible.
  13. sleeping soundly through the entire night–no leg cramps, no bathroom trips, no crazy-weird dreams, no unidentifiable sounds coming from the basement (or was it the kitchen?).
  14. cooking large quantities of scrumptious food for an appreciative crowd.
  15. listening to the rumble of distant thunder before a spring rain.
  16. wearing purple!
  17. having a day with no obligations other than to enjoy it.
  18. hearing Jessica sing “Amazing Grace” to the tune of “The House of the Rising Sun” and feeling the smile on my face and the goosebumps on my arms.
  19. feeling the burn of exercise and envisioning billions of little fat cells bursting into oblivion.
  20. watching my old dog napping in a patch of sunlight, lying on her back with all four legs extended straight up in the air (even though I do sometimes have to sneak up on her to make sure her chest is moving and she’s still breathing!).
  21. enjoying the mouth-watering goodness of summer’s fresh fruits–strawberries and watermelon and cantaloupe and blueberries and peaches–oh my!
  22. roasting a hot dog on a stick over a roaring bonfire.
  23. having a restaurant within walking distance and eating an all-meat pizza while sitting on the restaurant’s back deck and watching boats idling into the cove.
  24. having a friend decide to quit smoking and being able to applaud her success!
  25. opening all the windows to air out the house on an early spring day.
  26. listening to Lou Bega’s music (especially “Mambo Number 5” and “I Got a Girl”) and being reminded of fun times in the car with my boys when they were younger.
  27. diving into a double-decker BLT sandwich with garden-fresh tomatoes.
  28. watching Labrador puppies tumble and frolic.
  29. making tacos for supper (my quick and easy “go to” meal).
  30. re-connecting with former students through Facebook and discovering what amazing adults they have become.
  31. depriving myself of my beloved Ding Dongs for several months and then rewarding myself with one–just one–and realizing they no longer have power over me!
  32. sitting on the back deck after dark, listening to bats whirring overhead, deer rustling in the woods, and coyotes howling down by the creek.
  33. watching an entire day’s worth of news shows and not hearing a single word about Charlie Sheen or Lindsay Lohan.
  34. enjoying the beauty of a yard full of dogwood trees bursting into magnificent bloom.
  35. spying a white picket fence winding into the distance.
  36. realizing that the first official day of spring is only two days away and that I can finally bid a long overdue “good riddance” to my nemesis winter.

So, no matter what problems the next few months throw in my path, I need to remind myself of all these simple pleasures and the one ultimate truth:  Life is good.  Life is really, really good.

About icedteawithlemon

I have recently retired from a 30-year career in education in one of the best school districts in the world. I hope to spend my second life reading, writing, photographing, traveling, biking, cheering on my favorite baseball team (the St. Louis Cardinals), and soaking up glorious sunshine. In my spare time I enjoy playing with my pet tarantulas, trying out new flavors of chewing gum, and knitting socks for prison inmates. I'm almost positive that in a past life I was one of the Seven Dwarfs (most likely "Grumpy"), and in my next life I'm going to be either a taste tester for Hershey's or a model for Victoria's Secret's new line, "Bloomers for Boomers." I want to travel country back roads, singing Vanilla Ice songs at every karaoke bar and rating bathroom cleanliness at every truckstop. And someday I plan to own a private beach where skinny girls aren't allowed. I want to be a writer when I grow up. "Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake."--Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Humor, Simple Pleasures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Little Bitties: Part II

  1. SUE says:

    Thank you again, Karen, for reminding us that life IS good – really REALLY good. (My personal favorite lately has been seeing the pleasure on my husband’s face when he got yet another card or comment wishing him well soon.)

  2. emjayandthem says:

    ah … like your doggie sleeping in the sunlight .. this was really, really good.

    Cheers!
    MJ

  3. Jamie says:

    Excellent… so many good things to think about!!! I too like the thought of an old dog on their back in the sunlight… it is such a carefree thought…

    • Thank you! It’s so easy (for me, anyway) to get discouraged by daily drudgeries, so I sometimes have to pause to reflect on all the goodness and beauty surrounding me–and that old, sleeping dog brings a smile to my face every time.

  4. Kathy says:

    “Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves.”
    (Sir James Matthew Barrie)

    You bring lots of sunshine to many lives, Karen.

  5. bronxboy55 says:

    Beautiful post, Iced Tea. I related to almost every item on your list. You’re obviously a very sensitive person to be able to identify all of those things. All the more reason to go easy on yourself when you have the occasional cranky day; it’s bound to happen.

Leave a Reply

