Except When Milk Comes Out of My Nose


‘Tis the day–in fact, the season–of giving thanks for all the goodness in our lives.  Like so many others this Thanksgiving Day, I am grateful for the family and friends who enrich my life in so many magical ways, just as I am grateful for the protective roof over my head, the abundant food on my table, and the concealing clothes on my back (you should probably be grateful for my clothes, too!).

These are the people and things for which I give thanks every day of the year, not just on this particular one.  But there are others, perhaps a little obscure, for which I am also grateful, and today is just as good a day as any to give them their overdue recognition.

I am thankful for everything I have wanted that I haven’t gotten (so that I always have something to strive toward), and I’m thankful for everything I haven’t gotten that I’ve definitely deserved (numerous opportunities for speeding tickets come to mind).

I am thankful that I inherited my mom’s turkey and dressing recipe (that she inherited from her mom).  I’ve never tasted better, and putting their delicious dish on my Thanksgiving table makes me feel their approving presence.

I am thankful for the night-time rain beating against my window, drowning out all distractions and lulling me into a rare night of deep, blissful slumber.

I am thankful for any day spent in an over-sized sweatshirt and faded blue jeans.

I am thankful for my grandmother’s quilts for the comforting warmth they provide and the sweet memories they invite.

I am thankful I have an obstacle-free path between my bed and my bathroom so that I can make my frequent middle-of-the-night excursions without ever turning on a light.

I am thankful for Food Network for giving me the courage to expand my culinary comfort zone (cardamom and coriander, turmeric and thyme–oh my!). 

I am thankful that Martha’s tumor is shrinking and her chances of recovery are improving.

I am thankful for the 20-minute drive to and from work each day–just enough time for gearing up or winding down.

I am thankful for my delicious well water, so crisp and so clean and so free.

I am tremendously thankful for my toasty buns on icy cold mornings (compliments of the “butt warmer” in my leather car seat!).

I am thankful that I can sing every word of every song on the “oldies” radio station (and yes, I know what that says about me!).

I am thankful for my large desk calendar that gives me a place to doodle and scribble and ponder and plan.

I am thankful that being around germ-ridden teenagers for the past 29 years has created in me an immune system so strong I should be a case study for the World Health Organization.

I am thankful for leftover pumpkin pie for breakfast.

I am thankful for the electricity that powers my hot water heater, my hair dryer, my microwave, and my computer (my morning essentials).

I am thankful for free shipping.

I am thankful for the early morning phone call announcing “no school due to inclement weather.”  Crawling back into my warm, inviting bed for another hour (or two) is such a guilty pleasure!

I am thankful for those brief moments of absolute, stunning silence–so rare but oh, so precious!

I am extremely thankful for Advil and Icy Hot and heating pads (can I hear an “Amen!”?).

I am thankful for the challenges I’ve faced because, even though they have often defeated me, they have made me stronger and smarter and even more determined to beat back daily demons.

I am thankful for that moment when I see the last son’s headlights coming down the driveway so that the wait and the worry is temporarily halted.

I am thankful for my soon-to-be-delivered whirlpool tub (you and I are going to be such great friends!).

I am thankful for the person who first realized that chocolate and peanut butter was a tasty combination (and that chocolate and caramel was even better!).  That woman (surely it was a woman!) was a genius!

And finally, in the words of Woody Allen, “I am thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose.”  Now, in my case, it would be Diet Dr. Pepper (never milk), and I know from experience that it burns like crazy when it explodes through the nasal cavity.  But the gut-busting laughter that induces such an experience is priceless–the same laughter that sometimes makes me cry, occasionally makes me snort, and always makes me feel so gloriously happy.  I am especially thankful for the joy-makers who bring such laughter into my day. 

This list could go on and on and on, but it’s time to take the pumpkin pie out of the oven and put the turkey in–time to get down to serious business.  I hope your Thanksgiving is filled with love and laughter shared with kindred spirits and an abundance of food, glorious food (and everything else that makes you happy).  Enjoy!

About icedteawithlemon

I have recently retired from a 30-year career in education in one of the best school districts in the world. I hope to spend my second life reading, writing, photographing, traveling, biking, cheering on my favorite baseball team (the St. Louis Cardinals), and soaking up glorious sunshine. In my spare time I enjoy playing with my pet tarantulas, trying out new flavors of chewing gum, and knitting socks for prison inmates. I'm almost positive that in a past life I was one of the Seven Dwarfs (most likely "Grumpy"), and in my next life I'm going to be either a taste tester for Hershey's or a model for Victoria's Secret's new line, "Bloomers for Boomers." I want to travel country back roads, singing Vanilla Ice songs at every karaoke bar and rating bathroom cleanliness at every truckstop. And someday I plan to own a private beach where skinny girls aren't allowed. I want to be a writer when I grow up. "Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake."--Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Food, Gratitude, Humor, Simple Pleasures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Except When Milk Comes Out of My Nose

  1. SUE KLAYMAN says:

    Thank you, Karen Once again you call our attention to what we are thankful for, what we love, how very blessed we are and reminded to smile & laugh. And we are thankful, loving and blessed for you. Happy Thanksgiving!!

  2. emjayandthem says:

    I’m thankful to have found your blog!! 🙂 Happy (belated) Thanksgiving and thanks for the thankful list of thankfulness which inspires me as well. MJ

  3. I’m thankful to you for reminding me of chocolate and peanutbutter. I’m going to go have some now! Great post – there’s so much we can be thankful for on any given day. Thanks for that reminder, too.

Leave a Reply

