Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens …


…these are a few of my favorite things.  (And for all you young pups out there, that’s a reference to the song “My Favorite Things” by Rogers and Hammerstein in the movie The Sound of Music.)

I love iced tea with lemon (which explains the name of this blog–that and the fact that I had tried 57 other names before I found one that hadn’t already been used).  It is my drink of choice at every restaurant, and waitresses who keep my tea glass filled get BIG tips.

I love curling up in my recliner with a well written book.  The genre doesn’t really matter–fiction, non-fiction, history, philosophy, mystery–I don’t care as long as the author can string beautiful sentences together.

I love cherry limeades from Sonic.

I love having intellectual conversations with my adult children.  I love having silly conversations with them, too.

I love the luxury of a long Sunday afternoon nap.

I love watching Cardinals’ baseball, especially when I’m sitting in the stadium and gorging on a burnt kosher dog with sauerkraut and grilled onions.

I love walking on an early morning beach with the waves lapping at my bare feet and the breeze ruffling through my hair.  And when I’m on Sullivan’s Island, I love that I can be walking on that beach without another soul in sight.

I love the gift of January snow days (every educator out there knows what I’m talking about!).

I love everything on the menu at Ocean Zen in Springfield.

I love carnations, daffodils, and daisies–all beautiful in their simplicity.

I love kittens on the prowl, especially when they pounce on the tail of my grossly overweight rottweiler and she is too lazy to acknowledge them.

I love my potted herbs and my tomato and pepper plants.  Every morning when I go to work I can tell they’ve grown since the day before, and this starts my day with a smile (sappy, I know, but true).

I love being surrounded by Zac’s paintings, Sam’s photos, and Lucas’s overall awesomeness.

I love the smell of freshly mown grass and the smell of Cool Water cologne (and the smell of bacon frying, bread baking, and onions grilling).

I love afternoon thunderstorms and the tinkling of my wind chimes.

I love living in the same small community for 29 years and becoming friends with former students (most of whom still can’t bring themselves to call me by my first name!).

I love purple and pink sunsets over the lake.

About icedteawithlemon

I have recently retired from a 30-year career in education in one of the best school districts in the world. I hope to spend my second life reading, writing, photographing, traveling, biking, cheering on my favorite baseball team (the St. Louis Cardinals), and soaking up glorious sunshine. In my spare time I enjoy playing with my pet tarantulas, trying out new flavors of chewing gum, and knitting socks for prison inmates. I'm almost positive that in a past life I was one of the Seven Dwarfs (most likely "Grumpy"), and in my next life I'm going to be either a taste tester for Hershey's or a model for Victoria's Secret's new line, "Bloomers for Boomers." I want to travel country back roads, singing Vanilla Ice songs at every karaoke bar and rating bathroom cleanliness at every truckstop. And someday I plan to own a private beach where skinny girls aren't allowed. I want to be a writer when I grow up. "Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake."--Henry David Thoreau
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Humor, Simple Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens …

  1. Sam Eubank says:

    Hey mom! Good to see that we’re not numero uno on your list. I can also tell that you are close to retirement now. But, when you’re not in school, I know we’ll be able to tip the wine box without you being scurred. Thanks for keeping a special place in your heart for us!

  2. Megin says:

    Oh….Karen, I enjoyed this very much!! Congratulations on working up the nerve, perhaps this will lead you to writing a book!

  3. Barbara Luna says:

    Karen, I found it very insightful. It reminds us that it’s the little things in nature that are really important–not the things we buy.

  4. Angie says:

    I LOVE your blog, Karen! Please keep it up – I look forward to every entry.

Leave a Reply

